Petty reason causes divide

Excerpt from Tariq Jameel’s speeches.

I visited one of my uncles and told him I will see you again at this relative’s wedding.

He said “No I will not be attending”.

I asked “How come?”

He replied “When it was my son’s wedding, I visited in person to give them the wedding card. But to me they send someone to give me the invitation. They didn’t come in person like I did”.

It was a petty reason not to attend the wedding. For petty reasons people fall into disagreements.

“Hold fast, all of you, to the cord of Allah, and be not divided”. (3:103)

People should apply this verse in their social dealings such as the one I mentioned.

Learn to let go of fights and arguments. Let go of holding onto hatred.

Value your time.

Ask someone on their deathbed, all this time you spent hating someone what benefit did you derive from it?

All this time you spent arguing someone what benefit did you get?

Learn to ask forgiveness. Learn to forgive.

Leave a comment